Toggle menu

Other representatives and outside bodies

Parish and Town Councillors

Parish or town councils, also known as local councils, form the most local level of government.

They provide or maintain services such as allotments, burial grounds, bridleways, bus shelters, open spaces and public buildings. The funding for Parish and Town Councils is raised through its precept which is collected through the Council Tax system

There are six parish councils and one town council in South Ribble. Leyland and Bamber Bridge are not served by a parish or town council.

Please contact the Clerk of the Parish / Town Council initially if you have any queries.

More information on local councils can be found on the National Association of Local Councils website.


County Councillors

South Ribble has eight County Councillors representing the following county divisions for Lancashire County Council:

Leyland Central
Leyland South
Lostock Hall & Bamber Bridge
Moss Side & Farington
Penwortham East & Walton-le-Dale
Penwortham West
South Ribble East
South Ribble West

Use the Lancashire County Council website to find your County Councillor.


Members of Parliament

MPs represent the interests of the people living in their constituency and split their time between the House of Commons (which is part of the Houses of Parliament in Westminster, London) and offices in their own constituency.

There are two Parliamentary constituencies in South Ribble, which are represented by two MPs. They are:

South Ribble Constituency:  Katherine Fletcher

The South Ribble electoral wards that fall within the constituency are:
Broad Oak
Buckshaw and Worden
Earnshaw Bridge
Farington East (part)
Howick and Priory
Leyland Central
Longton and Hutton West
Moss Side
New Longton and Hutton East (part)
Seven Stars
St. Ambrose.

The Chorley electoral wards that fall within the constituency are:
Croston, Mawdesley & Euxton South (part)
Eccleston, Heskin & Charnock Richard (part).

The West Lancashire electoral wards that fall within the constituency are:
North Meols

Ribble Valley Constituency:   Nigel Evans

The South Ribble electoral wards that fall within the constituency are:

Bamber Bridge East
Bamber Bridge West
Coupe Green and Gregson Lane
Farington East (part)
Farington West
Lostock Hall
New Longton and Hutton East (part)
Samlesbury and Walton
Walton-le-Dale East
Walton-le-Dale West.

You can find out more about each MP, including their contact details by following the links above.

Further information can be accessed on the United Kingdom Parliament website.

Under the provisions of the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011, the next Parliamentary General Election is scheduled to take place on Thursday 2 May 2024, unless the House of Commons votes for an earlier date, or there are exceptional circumstances.


Outside Bodies

There are a number of organisations which are independent from the Council, but have an impact on its service areas.

In order that the Council can maintain effective partnerships with a number of these organisations, representatives of the Council sit on the various committees and forums that are responsible for them. The Council appoints individuals, usually elected councillors to represent its interests on various outside bodies and these are reviewed annually at the First Business Meeting of the full Council.

The details of the Council's representation on Outside Bodies can be accessed here.

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email