RESULT: General Election 2017

CONSERVATIVES have kept control of the parliamentary constituency of South Ribble.

Seema Kennedy won the seat with a majority of almost 7,500.

Voter turnout was 72.51% - up significantly from 68.69% at the last General Election in 2015.




CANDIDATE                                                       DESCRIPTION                                         VOTES CAST

GIBSON                                                              Labour Party                                           21,559
Julie Patricia                                                      

JARNELL                                                            National Health Action Party                        341
Mark Andrew

KENNEDY                                                          Conservative Party                                  28,980
Seema Louise                                                           

SMITH                                                               UK Independence Party                             1,387
Mark Lawrence                                                             

WRIGHT                                                             Liberal Democrats                                    2,073
John Patrick

WIGHT                                                               Green Party                                                 493
Andrew Edward

In her victory speech, Seema Kennedy paid special tribute to the families of Georgina Callander and Saffie Rose Roussos, who died in the Manchester bombings, and said she "held the families in her heart at this time."

She said: "I can promise all of you in South Ribble, whether you voted for me or not, that I will always work hard and do my best. It is the greatest honour of my life to represent South Ribble - the UK's best place to live."

Seema also thanked the Returning Officer, Jean Hunter, poll station staff and everyone at the count - held at the South Ribble Tennis Centre in Bamber Bridge. 

She added that the election had run very smoothly, which was a tribute to the hard work of staff at South Ribble. She also thanked her fellow candidates, for a "clean fight".

The parliamentary constituency of South Ribble had been represented by Conservatives since 2010. Before that, Labour MP David Borrow held the seat for the 13 years from 1997 to 2010.