Toggle menu

Leyland & Farington Community Hub

About Leyland and Farington

Leyland & Farington benefits from a high level of community involvement, with thousands of residents attending popular annual events such as the Christmas Festival, Leyland Festival, and the Taste of Leyland Food Festival. Many residents are also involved in community development projects.

The area has plenty to offer in the way of sporting and outdoor events thanks to the presence of Leyland Tennis Club, a Family Martial Arts Centre, Jump UK, Leyland Sports Association, Leyland Cricket Club, Active Lancashire, Leyland BTR FC (for under 11s, u13s, and u14s), and the Withnell Angling Club.

Residents contribute to their area through various groups including 'Friends of' associations for Farington Park, Shruggs Wood, Paradise Park, Farington Lodges, Hall Lane and Worden Park.

There are community centres in Broadfield (Base Community Centre) and Moss Side as well as a volunteer-run community centre at Wade Hall in Seven Stars. Leyland & Farington is also home to 16 places of worship including an Islamic Centre as well as various denominations of the Christian faith. There are nine GP surgeries and a late night pharmacy.

The South Ribble Together Community Hub, working together in partnership with the NHS and Citizen's Advice, has also been formed to cater for the sudden needs brought upon by the pandemic for those people shielding or self-isolating.


Wards covered by the Leyland and Farington Community Hub

Leyland & Farington is the most populated area of the South Ribble Borough with a population of 40,386 (as of 2019). It is divided into the following nine wards:

Ward and Population

Broadfield - 5,306

Buckshaw & Worden - 4,601

Earnshaw Bridge - 4,940

Farington East - 3,245

Farington West - 4,364

Leyland Central - 5,043

Moss Side - 3,959

St Ambrose - 4,648

Seven Stars - 4,280


Leyland and Farington Community Hub Contact

Community Development Team: 01772 625590


Community Hub Chair: Councillor Colin Sharples

Community Hub Vice Chair: Councillor Jacky Alty


Elected Council Members


Councillor Michael Titherington, Councillor Matthew Tomlinson.

Buckshaw & Worden

Councillor Caroline Moon, Councillor Alan Ogilvie.

Earnshaw Bridge

Councillor Colin SharplesCouncillor Lou Jackson

Farington East

Councillor Jacky Alty, Councillor Paul Wharton-Hardman JP.

Farington West

Councillor Stephen Thurlbourn, Councillor Karen Walton.

Leyland Central

Councillor Aniela Bylinski-Gelder, Councillor Derek Forrest.

Moss Side

Councillor Mary Green, Councillor Michael Green.

St Ambrose

Councillor Susan Jones JP.

Seven Stars

Councillor Jane Bell, Councillor Malcolm Donoghue.


More details of community activity within the Leyland & Farington area will appear here shortly. Please check back soon.


Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email