Toggle menu

Leyland Community Hub

About Leyland

Leyland benefits from a high level of community involvement, with thousands of residents attending popular annual events such as the Christmas Festival, Leyland Festival, and the Taste of Leyland Food Festival. Many residents are also involved in community development projects.

The area has plenty to offer in the way of sporting and outdoor events thanks to the presence of Leyland Tennis Club, a Family Martial Arts Centre, Leyland Sports Association, Leyland Cricket Club and Leyland Albion FC (for under 9s - under 16s).

Residents contribute to their area through various groups including 'Friends of' associations for Shruggs Wood, Paradise Park, Hall Lane and Worden Park.

There are community centres in Broadfield (Base Community Centre) and Moss Side as well as a volunteer-run community centre at Wade Hall in Seven Stars. Leyland is also home to a number of places of worship including an Islamic Centre as well as various denominations of the Christian faith. There are nine GP surgeries and a late night pharmacy.

The South Ribble Together Community Hub, working together in partnership with the NHS and Citizen's Advice, has also been formed to cater for the sudden needs brought upon by the pandemic for those people shielding or self-isolating.


Wards covered by the Leyland Community Hub

Leyland is the most populated area of the South Ribble Borough with a population of 32,777 (as of 2019). It is divided into the following seven wards:

Ward and Population

Broadfield - 5,306

Buckshaw & Worden - 4,601

Earnshaw Bridge - 4,940

Leyland Central - 5,043

Moss Side - 3,959

St Ambrose - 4,648

Seven Stars - 4,280


Leyland Community Hub Contact

Community Development Officer: Joanne Lloyd



Community Hub Chair: Councillor Matthew Farnworth

Community Hub Vice Chair: Councillor Jane Bell


Elected Council Members


Councillor Matthew TomlinsonCouncillor Kath Unsworth.

Buckshaw & Worden

Councillor Pete PillingerCouncillor Wesley Roberts.

Earnshaw Bridge

Councillor Colin SharplesCouncillor Lou Jackson.

Leyland Central

Councillor Aniela Bylinski-Gelder, Councillor Haydn Williams.

Moss Side

Councillor Mary Green, Councillor Michael Green.

St Ambrose

Councillor Jo Hindle-Taylor, Councillor Nicky Peet.

Seven Stars

Councillor Jane BellCouncillor Matthew Farnworth


More details of community activity within the Leyland & Farington area will appear here shortly. Please check back soon.


Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email